Day #46, March 17th, 2016.

Quote from How I Met Your Mother (2005-2014).

“It’s a rehash of FRIENDS, but not as funny or wonderful.”

“It was good for the first few seasons, then the jokes and the characters got tiresome.

“I hate how it pretends to be heartwarming and tries too hard to impress.”

“The central premise of the show runs out of steam pretty soon.”

“It overstayed its welcome.”

I could go on, but you get the gist. I was, at first, torn between the two sides battling for the recognition and love this show did or did not deserve. But the more I watched it, the more carefully and lovingly I watched it, the more I realized, I’m going to remember these characters and the moments they shared with me forever. Long enough into a show you love just for the sake of it, and you stop giving a crap about loopholes. Or its blithely visible flaws. HIMYM makes some absolutely ridiculous storytelling decisions, and I have come to love it for the eccentric bravery of those choices.

(One particular thing that won me was how clearly and beautifully pro-marijuana it is. I will never look at sandwiches the same way again.)

I wish everyone could see this show the way I do. And then, i realize, that would take all the fun out of it. For a show that stresses explicitly on the manner and perspective of the storyteller instead of the story itself, this one sure is pretty something.

Leave a Reply

